Wrexham Golf Club

Course Status

Course open. Updated: 13th Apr 2024

Wed 24
Thu 25
Fri 26

2023 Clwyd Championship Report

This year's Championship was held against a backdrop of three empty years, during and immediately following the Covid-19 pandemic, but the Championship Committee were determined to place this historic tournament back on the golfing calendar.

Prestatyn Golf Club hosted the first 36 holes with the course well prepared after hosting the Welsh Ladies Championship earlier in May.

With 49 entries at the start of the week, some injuries and accomodation difficulties meant the field was reduced to 41 by the Saturday. After a disappointing five no-shows, 36 players tackled the sun kissed links course with Liam Gobin (Sandiway) claiming the Jubilee Trophy with two excellent scores of 71 & 70 (-3 under par gross) beating Ryan Nedza (Neath) by one shot.

The second 36 holes at Wrexham Golf Club also enjoyed glorious weather with local golfer Rhys Millington playing very steadily, scoring two excellent scores of 71 & 70 (+1over par gross) to claim the Egerton Vase from Christopher Pierce (Holywell) two shots behind, but winning Runner Up with an excellent 67 on the second round from Ryan Nedza's 69.

Overall, the consistency of Ryan Nedza shone through and he was victorious for the overall Clwyd Championship with scores of 69, 73, 74, 69 a total of 285, three shots clear of Liam Gobin on 288, with Christopher Pierce in third with 292. This win enabled precious World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) points for Ryan, who is one to watch at future championships.

Both Prestatyn & Wrexham Club Captains were on hand to present both trophies and the winner's prize monies.

Thanks were expressed to both clubs for hosting the event, providing a first class test for the competitors at both venues, testament to the efforts of both club's green staff as well as the services of both club's catering and bar staff.

Presentation photos are shown for the individual winners and overall Championship winner.

Congratulations to all that participated and we look forward to hosting the Championship again next year.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.